A Graduate’s Reflections

[I wrote this for the May 2010 edition of Moody onTarget & Today in the Word, a monthly alumni email & devotional magazine publication (respectively).
Copyright of Moody Ministries.]

onTarget_May2010_StoryTitle2

Why did I choose to study at Moody Bible Institute?

As a high school senior, I understood that Moody was a Bible college dedicated to training students for full-time Christian ministry. Fresh out of high school, I had no financial standing and would have had to work for years in order to afford college. I was astounded to learn that a Christian college as prestigious as Moody Bible Institute – able to rival the best of colleges in the world in terms of Christian ministry training – provided a tuition-paid education.

May_LorenandRachelStory_BI

Not only was Moody the best option for what I was looking for and needed, but it was available to me. It was accessible.

Moody’s tuition-paid education was a tremendous blessing to me, but God did not stop there. He introduced me to my wife Rachel at Moody. Rachel and I had the rare opportunity to learn about the Scriptures and about each other’s unique direction in ministry in classes we shared. I had the privilege of observing and even helping her with her linguistics studies. Likewise, she helped and encouraged me in my biblical studies, papers and sermons.

The two years I lived in the dorms at Moody were just as precious as the classes. I met lifelong friends, had intense discussions about matters of Christian faith and theology and also had a lot of fun. Before Moody, I was uncertain in my understanding of the Scriptures, but now I’m truly confident in God’s Word.

This ends my Moody story, but not before I give thanks to all of Moody’s partners who understand how invaluable a place like Moody is for countless students like me who desire to enter the ripe fields of Christian ministry. With gratitude, thank you for investing in my life and ministry.


On Saturday, May 15, Moody Bible Institute will confer over 350 degrees to undergraduate, distance learning, and seminary students at our Chicago commencement ceremony. Commencement ceremonies at MTS-Michigan and MBI-Spokane will be held on May 22 and May 29, respectively. We praise God for these future Christian leaders, men and women like Loren, who are equipped with God’s Word and passionate about reaching the lost with the message of Jesus Christ.

As a higher education and media ministry, Moody exists to equip people
with the truth of God’s Word to be maturing followers of Christ who are
making disciples around the world.

820 N. LaSalle Blvd., Chicago, IL 60610 |
(800) DL-MOODY | www.moodyministries.net

Leave a Reply

